Skip To Main Content

Board Elections

Rockdale ISD Board of Trustees Elections

Rockdale ISD Board of Trustees shall consist of seven members.  The method of election of Board members shall be by place.  General election of Board members shall be on the May uniform election date conducted on the first Saturday in May of each year.  Board members shall be elected for three-year terms, with elections conducted annually, as follows:

Places 1 and 2             The election for places 1 and 2 shall be held in 2024, 2027, 2030, and in three-year intervals thereafter.

Places 3, 4, and 5        The election for places 3, 4, and 5 shall be held in 2025, 2028, 2031, and in three-year intervals thereafter.

Places 6 and 7             The election for places 6 and 7 shall be held in 2023, 2026, 2029 and in three-year intervals thereafter.

The method of voting for a candidate to be elected is by plurality.  To be elected, a candidate must receive more votes than any other candidate for the place.

Rockdale ISD Board of Trustees:

            Place 1:           Jason Barcak (May 2027)

            Place 2:           Karen Laughlin (May 2027)

            Place 3:           Amy Casas  (May 2025)

            Place 4:           Charles Miles  (May 2025)

            Place 5:           (May 2025)

            Place 6:           Janice Keen  (May 2026)

            Place 7:           Julia Cardona  (May 2026)

General Election: May 3, 2025

The next Rockdale ISD General Election will be held on Saturday, May 3, 2025 for the purpose of electing one trustee for Place 3, one trustee for Place 4, and one trustee for Place 5. Early Voting and Election Day Voting locations to be determined.

The first day to file an Application for Place on the Ballot in the May 3, 2025 General Election will be Wednesday, January 15, 2025; the last day to file an Application for Place on Ballot will be Friday, February 14, 2025 at 5:00 p.m.

Candidates may file application as follows:

Physical Address:
Rockdale ISD Administration Office
520 W. Davilla Ave.
Rockdale, TX 76567

Mailing Address:
Rockdale ISD
Attention: Dyan Shelander
P. O. Box 632
Rockdale, TX 76567

Fax: (512) 446-3460

Qualifications for Office:

Board Policy BBA (Legal)

Additional Election Information:

Board Policy BBBA (Legal)

Find additional election-related dates and information at:

Election Contact Information:

Questions regarding School elections should be directed to the Superintendent’s office:  Rockdale Independent School District, 520 W. Davilla Ave., P.O. Box 632, Rockdale, Texas 76567; by phone (512) 430-6000 ext. 1010; or by email to

School Board Election Notices